Saving Daddy's Soulmate

My Journey of Forgiveness

Daily Post ~ I Remember

on August 30, 2013

speed

Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55
by michelle w. on August 29, 2013

Take the third line of the last song you heard, make it your post title, and write for a maximum of 15 minutes. GO!

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SPEED.
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/daily-prompt-speed/

<

Lyrics:
Long time since I've seen your smile,
But when I close my eyes,
I remember
You were no more than a child,
But then so was I,
Young and tender.

Time carries on;
I guess it always will,
But deep inside my heart
Time stands still.

I REMEMBER.

I remember so much from being little. I remember wearing a man’s dress shirt as a nightgown when I was about 5 years old. We’d gone to his friend’s house about 2 hours away and I guess at the last minute, he decided not to drive home. Probably because he’d been drinking. Why he took me there with him, I have no idea. And why I wasn’t with Sissy and Mom at home? Mom says he took me everywhere when I was little. I think it’s because she was having some type of breakdown. She’s never been very strong mentally nor emotionally. It’s no wonder considering the life she lead. The lies and pretending that she lived with for so many years. It’s probably because she is so strong or co-dependent that she stayed with him. I know I couldn’t have stayed with him if I’d been his wife. Heck, I didn’t want to stay as a daughter.

It’s snippets of strange memories that lurk within me and I’ve no one to ask why I remember walking out of a bedroom in a strange house to a kitchen. But I remember his friend’s name and I remember the town we were in. It could have all been innocent, but because of what I know, I am never sure. I picked the song because I heard it today and I wish my memories would stay for awhile so that I could make sense of things. Or at least stop haunting me and let me move on.

Leave a Reply

